A better day

Tonight I felt really good after work.  I was busy with customers for the first half of my shift and still got a few things done.  Then, I had a cashier for the second half of the shift, so I was able to stay away from the register and get work done.  I hate how, when you’re trying to do things, people keep coming in and picking up items and taking them to the counter.  Then they want you to bag it and give you money for it.  It’s like it’s a store or something.

(Slightly) kidding aside, I busted ass and, while I hope it is acknowledged tomorrow when the manager and other assistant manager see what I did, I’m good with my own feeling of satisfaction.  That is what motivates me most.  Though, I can’t help thinking that raise time is just a couple months away  😉   That’s after we have inventory in January.

After my last rant, er, post, I have to say that the store didn’t look too bad tonight.  It wasn’t a super busy day, but it wasn’t dead either.

In other news, I asked to transfer to another store last week.  Not out of dissatisfaction in where I’m at, but to move to a tougher store to challenge myself, start fresh, and continue to grow as a person and a manager.  I was told today that the DM (district manager) has said he doesn’t want to break up a good team at my store.  We are a good team, but based on past dealings with him, I suspect that the real reason is he doesn’t think I can handle the tougher store.

I’m not going to argue the point if I end up staying where I’m at.  The raise I’d get wouldn’t be all that significant, but the job would be a lot more challenging (hassle).  As mentioned above, I’m due for a raise soon anyway.

I arrive belatedly at the gist of this post: how you present yourself is how others will perceive you.

I’ve come a very long way over the years from painfully shy and timid to at least an average degree of outgoingness, with many moments of being downright outgoing, friendly, and even bold.  You have to be bold when you work in retail.  For example, you have to be bold enough to check out a return item in front of the person as they tell you there’s nothing wrong with it.  Then call them out if they’re up to no good.  Like the lady who tried to return laundry detergent because the scent was too strong.  The jug was used up and refilled with water.  Needless to say, I didn’t issue any refund or credit.

Having said that, I have work to do yet with displaying assertiveness, being decisive and in charge.  Those who work with me one on one, see the improvements I’ve made and the great potential I have.  (Well beyond the job.)  But the district manager doesn’t really work with me directly.  I have little interaction with him.  He only knows that I was very quiet and reserved when I was first hired and part of the team that set up the new store – from an empty building to open for business in 10 days.  The DM was around a lot then, but only at our store once a week after that.  I’ve always tended to be reserved at first until I get to know people.  Another thing I’m working on.

So, I’m not all that disappointed that I probably won’t be making a move right now.  Nor am I angry that someone is not seeing my ability.  I understand where it’s coming from, for the most part.  That’s not to say that I’m not a little mad.  I guess I’m realizing I didn’t want it that much after all.  Way to be decisive, eh?  Yeah, there’s no love lost between me ant the DM, but the best next step is finding new challenges elsewhere that compensate better for your efforts.  A fair day’s wages for a day’s work.  Something that is ever more elusive.  That’ll be the topic of another day’s post.

Leave a Reply

